SPECIAL OFFER: Only $59 for access to everything in OSTraining for 1 year! You save $85!  1
Join today and get access to 1,000's of books and videos. Learn WordPress, Drupal, Magento, Joomla and more! Sign up today!

What host recommended offers without complaints

3 years 5 months ago #124212 by iqsafe
My current host warns me of exceeding the number of MySQL databases, number of tables generated without my knowledge and/or size of databases. As I bought an hosting area for learning purposes and for hosting 3 or four sites, two of them with domain names, they still complain of exceeding my limits. At first they claim it is unlimited offer, then they come up with instructions that was unnoticed by me that this offer also has some limitations. What do you think, or what is the recommended shared host without complaints such as these that I mentioned above. I would very much appreciate your opinion. Thanks.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago - 3 years 5 months ago #124214 by Daniel Pickering
Replied by Daniel Pickering on topic What host recommended offers without complaints
Hi iqsafe,

May I ask who you are currently using to host your site ? And what your hosting budget is ?

OSTraining recommends arvixe

www.ostraining.com/hosting-drupal/

Thanks,
Daniel

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago - 3 years 5 months ago #124216 by iqsafe
My current host is Hostmonster…. They charge now 170 per year…. That is expensive for my budget…. And even they discourge use of databases and tables… I like the charge not to exceed 100 to 120 a year without complaints and vulnerable to malware as I often faced… Thanks

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago #124217 by Daniel Pickering
Replied by Daniel Pickering on topic What host recommended offers without complaints
Hi iqsafe,

I would email each of the ones on the above link and make sure you are getting the service you need for the price.

Thanks,
Daniel
The following user(s) said Thank You: iqsafe

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago - 3 years 5 months ago #124226 by iqsafe
Thanks. Sorry I could not undestand what do you mean that you are sending each of above link… who do you mean…. Can you explain in more detail.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago #124227 by Daniel Pickering
Replied by Daniel Pickering on topic What host recommended offers without complaints
Hi iqsafe,

Take a look at these and send them all an email to clarify what you want for your hosting it's always best to know what you are signing up for and emailing prior usually give you a good indication of the level of customer service you can expect from the company.

www.ostraining.com/hosting/
www.inmotionhosting.com/
www.acquia.com/products-services/acquia-cloud
pantheon.io/

Thanks,
Daniel
The following user(s) said Thank You: iqsafe

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago #124231 by iqsafe
You think I get better prices from those mentioned and they do not change their prices the following year ?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago #124233 by Daniel Pickering
Replied by Daniel Pickering on topic What host recommended offers without complaints
Hi iqsafe,

From my general experience they have to at least warn you before putting prices up.
I'd always recommend emailing them however they can answer your questions better than I can.
I'd also recommend you check out are class on git www.ostraining.com/class/git/

It's always a good idea to back your site(s) up some where git gives you ability to back up and move your site some where else fast should you need to.

Thanks,
Daniel
The following user(s) said Thank You: iqsafe

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago #124238 by iqsafe
Thank u so much for alerting me to git that I never known it also used for backing up our websites. But how to do so…. Is there any guide? Thanks

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago #124239 by Daniel Pickering
Replied by Daniel Pickering on topic What host recommended offers without complaints
Hi iqsafe,

If you prefer a beginners guide we have one here www.ostraining.com/blog/coding/git-beginners/

If you need any extra help let me know I could always update the blog.

Thanks,
Daniel
The following user(s) said Thank You: iqsafe

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago #124242 by iqsafe
Thank you so much. Does it teach how to back up my websites ?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 5 months ago #124243 by Daniel Pickering
Replied by Daniel Pickering on topic What host recommended offers without complaints
Hi iqsafe,

Yes it covers the general use of it. It's for version control it's great for if you do something that breaks your website it will usually undo the damage.

If you have any issues with it let me know and we can do a drupal specific tutorial on it for you.

Thanks,
Daniel
The following user(s) said Thank You: iqsafe

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Join today and get access to 1,000's of books and videos. Learn WordPress, Drupal, Magento, Joomla and more! Sign up today!